You are here

Stefan Milenkovich Performs Bruch

Ian Hobson, music director and conductor
Stefan Milenkovich, violin

Sinfonia’s 36th season opens with a lush, virtuosic program featuring violinist Stefan Milenkovich performing the Bruch Violin Concerto in G Minor. This concert begins with the Brahms Haydn Variations, a set of movements based on a 10-measure theme by Haydn uniquely divided into two five-bar phrases. This work features each orchestral section and closes with a masterful restatement of the chorale. Bruch’s Concerto in G Minor is among his most popular works with its dark and tuneful themes giving way to a dancing and fiery finish. Following intermission, Sinfonia will accompany the winner of its annual youth concerto competition before closing the concert with Mendelssohn’s richly Romantic “Scottish” symphony. Inspired by the composer’s trip to Britain and tour of Scotland, the work shifts from a stormy first movement to a rousing finale that includes a victory hymn.

Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Haydn, Op. 56
Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26
2019 Youth Concerto Competition Winner, TBA
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 56, "Scottish"

Event Details

Foellinger Great Hall
Sa Sep 14, 2019 - 7:30pm
Pick Five+: 39 / SC 35 / STU 7 / YTH 5 Single: 40 / SC 36 / STU 8 / YTH 5 Sinfonia da Camera Series (All 6 Events): 208 / SC 184 / STU 40 / YTH 25