fbpx Beethoven: The Middle Period | Krannert Center for the Performing Arts | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

You are here

Beethoven: The Middle Period

Ian Hobson, piano, music director, and conductor

Many of Beethoven's most beloved works arise from his Middle Period, during which time the composer enjoyed successes but also faced numerous crises of illness, heartbreak, and the reality of his encroaching deafness. Sinfonia da Camera celebrates works from this time in Beethoven's life with selections including the inventive and beloved Piano Concerto No. 4, led from the keyboard by Ian Hobson, and the Eighth Symphony, a compact and energetic masterpiece full of surprises and good humor.

At 6:30pm, Ian Hobson will host a pre-concert lecture in the Foellinger Great Hall for ticket holders only.

Beethoven: King Stephan Overture
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58
Beethoven: Rondino in Eb Major for Wind Octet
Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93

This performance will run approximately one hour and 40 minutes, and includes a 20-minute intermission.

Event Details

Foellinger Great Hall
Fr Oct 21, 2016 - 7:30pm
Pick Five+: 39 / SC 35 / STU 7 / YTH 5 Single: 40 / SC 36 / STU 8 / YTH 5 Sinfonia da Camera Series (All 6 events) 175 / SC 160 / STU 30