You are here

Dreams and Dances from the Steppes

Ian Hobson, music director and conductor
Igor Kalnin, violin
Rochelle Sennet, piano

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote his Symphony No. 1 in G minor, “Winter Dreams,” just after he accepted a position at the Moscow Conservatory—it is the com- poser’s earliest notable work. Sinfonia da Camera will play the American premiere of Saidaminova’s Double Concerto for Violin and Piano with concertmaster Igor Kalnin playing the solo violin part, and principal keyboardist Rochelle Sennet on piano. Sinfonia will end its 35th season with Alexander Borodin’s energetic Polovtsian Dances.

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, Winter Dreams
Saidaminova: Double Concerto for Violin and Piano
Borodin: Polovtsian Dances

Event Details

Foellinger Great Hall
Sa Apr 20, 2019 - 7:30pm
Pick Five+: 39 / SC 35 / STU 7 / YTH 5 Single: 40 / SC 36 / STU 8 / YTH 5 Sinfonia da Camera Series (All 6 Events): 208 / SC 182 / STU 40 / YTH 25