You are here

All the World's a Stage

Stephen Alltop, music director and conductor
Carol Cook, viola

This colorful program takes volcanoes as its subject. CUSO welcomes Carol Cook, principal viola with the Lyric Opera of Chicago, to perform Composer-in-Residence Stacy Garrop’s new viola concerto, Krakatoa, a dramatic work inspired by the famous volcano explosion of August, 1883. Rossini's bubbly Overture to The Barber of Seville and Schubert’s lovely Symphony No. 5 both date from 1816, “The Year Without a Summer,” caused by the 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora. Stravinsky’s delightful suite from Pulcinella will highlight many solo instruments of the orchestra.

Rossini: Overture to The Barber of Seville
Schubert: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, D.485
Garrop: Krakatoa
Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite

Event Details

Foellinger Great Hall
Sa Jan 26, 2019 - 7:30pm
40 / SC 36 / STU & YTH 5 For more information about CUSO concerts or to purchase season tickets, please call the CUSO office (217.351.9139) or visit