fbpx Illinois Modern Ensemble: Annual Martirano Award Concert | Krannert Center for the Performing Arts | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

You are here

Illinois Modern Ensemble: Annual Martirano Award Concert

Stephen Andrew Taylor and Carlos Carrillo, directors
Julia Jamieson, harp
Joshelle Conley, violin
Carly Wingfield, soprano

26th Annual Martirano Award Concert

Featuring the 2022 winning compositions and the Colwell Playhouse's new Meyer sound system with 127 speakers.

Tomasz Skweres (Poland), Event Horizon (Third Prize)
Emre Sihan Kaleli (Turkey), Adjacent Rooms, a Part of a Labyrinth (Second Prize)
Timothy Roy (USA), “dans les dents de la guivre” for harp, multichannel electronics, and lighting (First Prize)
Salvatore Martirano, Sampler: Everything Goes When the Whistle Blows
Brian J. Hinkley, Total Inaction

The Illinois Modern Ensemble comprises students dedicated to the performance of contemporary and experimental music. Its repertoire in recent seasons includes works by leading figures such as Steve Reich, Georg Friedrich Haas, and Augusta Read Thomas, as well as a constant stream of new works by student, faculty, and guest composers. The IME frequently collaborates with Lyric Theatre @ Illinois and also presents the winners of the annual Salvatore Martirano Composition Award, an international contest that draws over 200 applications each year.

In 2018 the ensemble appeared on two recordings: Dmitri Tymoczko’s Fools and Angels (New Focus); and Erik Lund’s Dead Innocence: a contemplation of something serious (Centaur Records). In recent seasons the group has appeared at the University of Louisville, the Chicago Cultural Center, and the new-music Chicago club, Constellation.

Event Details

Colwell Playhouse
Th Sep 29, 2022 - 7:30pm CT
10 / SC 7 / STU, UI & YTH 4