UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Dr. Annunziata Tomaro, guest conductor Victor Yip, graduate assistant conductor George Siegle, soloist

Foellinger Great Hall Krannert Center for the Performing Arts Thursday, March 27, 2025 7:30 PM

JESSIE MONTGOMERY

Soul Force (2015)

(b. 1981)

Victor Yip, conductor

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF (1873-1943)

Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor, Op. 1 (1891) *Vivace – Moderato*

Andante

Allegro vivace

George Siegle, piano soloist

INTERMISSION

JEAN SIBELIUS

(1865-1957)

Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39 (1899-1900)

Andante, ma non troppo – Allegro energico Andante (ma non troppo lento)

Scherzo Finale

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Dr. Annunziata Tomaro, guest conductor Victor Yip, graduate assistant conductor

Violin I

Dante Freund, concertmaster

Anna Wallace Wei-Ting Chen Heather Beckman

Jin Baek
Ashley Kim
Luke Brann
Cate Winsor
Juliana Scofield
Kiersten Scherer
Jacy Jacobus
Adrian Wu
Smaya Anan

Violin II Farah Wu Alivia Gaskins

Alivia Gaskins
Alice Lee
Xueqi Hu
Yi Shen
Noel Chi
Noel Sims
Rachel Cho
Evan Campbell
Trisha Choudhary

Jesse Chen

Hannah Jane Madla

Viola Kun Yan

Jacqueline Scavetta

Jace Kim Dylan Ivanov Esteban Jaimes Stephen Cecil Gedrych Eynon Cello

Oskar Norell Maxwell Schultz Andrew Gagiu Juedy Lee Indya Reed Heather Irwin Chris Von Hoff Holly Bleeden Scott Mei

Matthew Brunson Jessie Chen

Mira Pietrzkiewicz

Double Bass Nathaniel Harcar Mingzi Han Orion Miller

Flute Yishan Li Destina Sarussi Zimeng Wang

Oboe

Wesley Boehm Jake Hutchinson Julia Olson

Bassoon Amaan Khan Makayla Rasmussen Liyang Wan

Clarinet Chandler Cleri Audrey Conklin Peter Varga Horn

Daphne Anderson Michael Goss Matthew Herbst Owen Robinson

Trumpet Nick Szoblik Kevin Wang Noah Wiesbard

Trombone Jonathan Kirchem Audrey Ringle Sam Murray

Tuba Holly McFarlen

Harp Jenna Crosson

Percussion
Daisy Waters
Trevor Landreth
Collin Vanderkarr

PROGRAM NOTES

Program notes and faculty information can be found in the digital program available by scanning the QR code.



LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We begin today by acknowledging that these spaces stand on the traditional territories of the Peoria, Kaskaskia, Piankashaw, Wea, Miami, Mascoutin, Odawa, Sauk, Mesquaki, Kickapoo, Potawatomi, Ojibwe, Menominee, Ho-Chunk, and Chickasaw Nations. These lands carry the ongoing stories of these Nations and their struggles for survival and identity.

The School of Music at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign acknowledges the peoples of these lands, as well as the histories of dispossession that have allowed for the growth of this institution. We share a responsibility to reflect on and actively address these histories and the role that this university has played in shaping them.

The School of Music is committed to moving beyond these acknowledgements, toward building deeper relationships and taking actions to promote equity for indigenous peoples.

TO OUR PATRONS

The taking of photographs and the use of recording devices are strictly prohibited. Silence phones and other electronic devices. Out of respect for your fellow patrons, please limit cell phone usage to the reading of program notes.

LATE SEATING

Latecomers will be seated only at intervals selected in advance by the artist.

TICKET OFFICE

General Information: 217-333-6280 or 800-KCPATIX (527-2849)

Website: KrannertCenter.com E·mail: kran-tix@illinois.edu

PATRON SERVICES

For information about wheelchair and easy access seating, hearing assistance, and visual services, contact the Patron Services office at 217-333-9716 or patronservices@krannertcenter.illinois.edu.

To inquire about lost articles, contact the Ticket Office.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The School of Music gratefully acknowledges the assistance of:

Krannert Center Student Association Krannert Center Community Volunteers Illini Emergency Medical Services