JOHN HERSEY HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND

Spencer Hile, conductor Ollie Watts Davis, soprano

ILLINOIS WIND SYMPHONY

Kevin M. Geraldi, conductor Nicki Roman, saxophone Patrick Harlin, guest composer

Foellinger Great Hall Krannert Center for the Performing Arts Wednesday, December 4, 2024 7:30 PM

JOHN HERSEY HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND

BENJAMIN BARKER (b. 1995) Bamboo Shoots and City Streets (2022)

OMAR THOMAS (b. 1984) Forward/Still (2023)

ERIC WHITACRE (b. 1970) Goodnight Moon (2011/2017)

Arr. Mösenbichler-Bryant Ollie Watts Davis, soprano

ALFRED REED (1921–2005) Armenian Dances, Part II (1978) Lorva Horovel (Songs from Lori)

BRIEF PAUSE

ILLINOIS WIND SYMPHONY

JOAN TOWER (b. 1938) Fascinating Ribbons (2021)

AARON COPLAND (1900–1990) Emblems (1964)

KEVIN DAY (b. 1996) Unquiet Waters (2020/2023) fast, turbulent still

still disturbed

Nicki Roman, saxophone

PATRICK HARLIN

(b. 1984)

The Time Traveler (2024)

World Premiere Lost to Time 1808: Time Spy 1957: Hello Sputnik 1969: Fever Dream 1781: UnPartita

1101: Reflection of the Living Light

1996: Nonstop News 2037: Light Speed Present Moment

JOHN HERSEY HIGH SCHOOL SYMPHONIC BAND Spencer Hile, conductor

flute
Isla Burney
Abby Homoly
Allison Kanabay*
Victoria Kudakova
Ally Park, piccolo
Oscar Soto
Aleks Todorov
Alaiza Valera

oboe Mahalia Goldrich Emily Slowinske Josh Yoon*

bassoon Shane Cheskis* Marek Juscinski

clarinet
Onora Bright
Colin Faley, bass
Nathan Hessling
Enno Klinkenberg
Alyssa Mammen,* bass
Lila Nanisetty
Henry Ulrych*

saxophone
Freddie Eichorn*
Grant Fuller
Ben Hagen
Adam Jakubiec
Aben Mathew

horn
Gabriel Dudas*
Rosemary Harte
Ben Mungons
Sophie Ulrych

trumpet
Asad Chaudhry
Annabelle Finn
Grace Fuller*
Masha Nikiforova
Jack Obrebski
Ethan Oommen
Jack Sovitzky*

trombone Olivia Choi Aaron Jeske Varun Joshi Viktoria Kary

Viktoria Karwowski Linnea Olsen* Danny Rodriguez euphonium Franciz Apao Cayden Hollister

tuba Ally Grabowski Kevin Harte* Alex Perrin

string bass Kyle Park

percussion Melanie Baeza Jacob Boba Jonathan Choi Faith Lee Max Lu Victor Pavlov Gabi Venegas*

All sections listed alphabetically

*Denotes section leader

ILLINOIS WIND SYMPHONY Kevin M. Geraldi, conductor

flute Yishan Li* Ellie Pierzina Destina Sarussi Heather Swartz,* piccolo Yiwen Yuan

oboe Wesley Boehm,* Jake Hutchinson, English horn Julia Olson

bassoon Alexis Esher* Amaanullah Khan, contra Makayla Rasmussen

clarinet
Axel Aguilera
Finn Chellino
Chandler Cleric, bass
Audrey Conklin
Christina Dodds, e-flat
Matt Kelley
Rebecca Mulligan,* bass
Analise Mulvihill
Lia Pappas
Thomas Smith, alto
Justina Wojahn

saxophone Maggie Camp, tenor Andrew Gaffey,* baritone Jack Govern, soprano/alto Shelby Kook, alto Sheridan Mackey, alto

horn
Jacob Arche
Joseph Goldstein*
Matthew Herbst
Jess Mingee
Luke Suarez

trumpet
Nathanael Boston
Steven Clawson
Grayden Fields
Simon Heck
Joseph Runkle*
Luke Yoakam

trombone
Adam Almeter*
Jackson Parker, bass
Nolan White
Matt Williamson*

euphonium Jake Guglielmi Andrew McGowan*

tuba Tyler Lange* Holly McFarlen* Wilson Shrout

piano Ana Huerta Fernandez

harp Rachel Overby

double bass Nathaniel Harcar

percussion Xander Buckhalter Nick Evanoff Trevor Landreth* Adrian Silva Sui Lin Tam Daisy Waters

All sections listed alphabetically

*Denotes section leader

PROGRAM NOTES

Program notes and faculty information can be found in the digital program available by scanning the QR code.



LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We begin today by acknowledging that these spaces stand on the traditional territories of the Peoria, Kaskaskia, Piankashaw, Wea, Miami, Mascoutin, Odawa, Sauk, Mesquaki, Kickapoo, Potawatomi, Ojibwe, Menominee, Ho-Chunk, and Chickasaw Nations. These lands carry the ongoing stories of these Nations and their struggles for survival and identity.

The School of Music at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign acknowledges the peoples of these lands, as well as the histories of dispossession that have allowed for the growth of this institution. We share a responsibility to reflect on and actively address these histories and the role that this university has played in shaping them.

The School of Music is committed to moving beyond these acknowledgements, toward building deeper relationships and taking actions to promote equity for indigenous peoples.

TO OUR PATRONS

The taking of photographs and the use of recording devices are strictly prohibited. Silence phones and other electronic devices. Out of respect for your fellow patrons, please limit cell phone usage to the reading of program notes.

LATE SEATING

Latecomers will be seated only at intervals selected in advance by the artist.

TICKET OFFICE

General Information: 217-333-6280 or 800-KCPATIX (527-2849)

Website: KrannertCenter.com E·mail: kran-tix@illinois.edu

PATRON SERVICES

For information about wheelchair and easy access seating, hearing assistance, and visual services, contact the Patron Services office at 217-333-9716 or patronservices@krannertcenter.illinois.edu.

To inquire about lost articles, contact the Ticket Office.

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The School of Music gratefully acknowledges the assistance of:

Krannert Center Student Association Krannert Center Community Volunteers Illini Emergency Medical Services