# MUNDELEIN HIGH SCHOOL HONORS WIND ENSEMBLE

Jerry Shelato, conductor

### WIND ORCHESTRA

Barry L. Houser, conductor Alex Mondragon, graduate assistant conductor

Foellinger Great Hall Krannert Center for the Performing Arts Wednesday, November 20, 2024 7:30 PM

### MUNDELEIN HIGH SCHOOL HONORS WIND ENSEMBLE

HELEN MAY BUTLER Cosmopolitan America (1904/2014)

(1867 - 1957)Arr. Lamb

NATHAN DAUGHTREY Through an Open Door (2023)

(b. 1975)

RANDALL STANDRIDGE Animation (2023)

(b. 1976)

**BRIEF PAUSE** 

### WIND ORCHESTRA

ANDREW DAVID PERKINS **Clutch** (2019)

(b. 1978)

LILIBOULANGER D'un Soir Triste (1918/2022)

(1893-1918)

Alex Mondragon, conductor Trans. Hontz

FRANK TICHELI Fantastic Dreams (2023) (b. 1958)

Dancing with the Muses

Gently Lilting Magic Carpet L.A. Noir

# MUNDELEIN HIGH SCHOOL HONORS WIND ENSEMBLE Jerry Shelato, conductor

flute
Mari Hoover
Lily Jones
Nishita Kumar
Stella Moon, piccolo
Naomi Routledge
Molly Stedman

oboe Sara Choi Makenna Wald

bassoon Ian Grandt Lia Kagan Marek Sikora

clarinet
Carlos Armenta
Emilio Burgos
Sergio Burgos
Alexandra Dirzo, bass
Daniel Fishel, bass
Sreya Kannappan
Michael Nunez
Karina Schwalbach

saxophone Michael Cory, alto Lucy Heikes, alto Aidan Ross, baritone Jordan Vincent, tenor *horn* Emelia Baker Aedan Hogan David Martinez Sanchez

trumpet
Matthew Adamczyk
Paul Adamczyk
Michelle Frane
Shannon Ouimet
Mohin Patel
Paola Vargas

trombone
Dylan Buisson, bass
Jacob Dubinskiy
Mia Joshi
Chloe Langford
Mariana Van Eycke

euphonium Yakelin Morales Maja Pcionek

tuba Arlo Fingerhut Andy Gallup Achilles Kim

*bass* Luke Baude percussion Stevie Bero Stella Buisson Emily Grandt Mason Jerome Shawn Mastandrea Sydney Olorvida Eleni Taktikos Parker Van Arsdale

keyboard Shawn Mastandrea

All sections listed alphabetically

# WIND ORCHESTRA Barry L. Houser, conductor

flute

Abigail Cunico Noelle Klima\* Ava Stumpf

Clarabella Tochimani, piccolo

oboe

Abi Beck\*

Gale Creighten, English horn

Emma Knox Lukas Phillips

bassoon

Abigail Alcozer Kevin Toma\*

clarinet
Josh Agrest
Lily Blodgett
Anly Flores
Cameron Hejny
Stefan Loest
Piper Murray
Lia Pappas

Corina Xiong

Nathan Zhu

saxophone

Alejandro Gutierrez, tenor Haley Hamilton, alto Lily Knaack,\* alto Annika Marchi, baritone Cole McElravey, baritone Emily McGovern, tenor

Carlos Ponce Vargas,\* alto

horn

Matthew Bastianen Anna Creech Nora Lantry Maeve O'Hara\* Sarah Page

trumpet
Jacob Jones
Genna Mack
Colin Ovando
Anna Poel
Sean Spenner
Olivia Suerth
Kevin Wang\*

*trombone* Jake Bae

Ethan Groharing Derrick Neal Audrey Ringle\* Owen Widuch, bass

euphonium

Willow Neeriemer\* Addison Putz Alex Richards

tuba

Bobby Borgstede Ethan Martin\* Nicholas Weir

string bass
Calliope Nixon

percussion Luke Hsiao Maxine Mikkelson Gabbie Salazar Logan Sardina Jon Steeber Collin Vanderkarr\*

*piano*Dylan Covert

harp Jenna Crosson

All sections listed alphabetically

\*Denotes section leader

### PROGRAM NOTES

Program notes and faculty information can be found in the digital program available by scanning the QR code.



### LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We begin today by acknowledging that these spaces stand on the traditional territories of the Peoria, Kaskaskia, Piankashaw, Wea, Miami, Mascoutin, Odawa, Sauk, Mesquaki, Kickapoo, Potawatomi, Ojibwe, Menominee, Ho-Chunk, and Chickasaw Nations. These lands carry the ongoing stories of these Nations and their struggles for survival and identity.

The School of Music at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign acknowledges the peoples of these lands, as well as the histories of dispossession that have allowed for the growth of this institution. We share a responsibility to reflect on and actively address these histories and the role that this university has played in shaping them.

The School of Music is committed to moving beyond these acknowledgements, toward building deeper relationships and taking actions to promote equity for indigenous peoples.

### TO OUR PATRONS

The taking of photographs and the use of recording devices are strictly prohibited. Silence phones and other electronic devices. Out of respect for your fellow patrons, please limit cell phone usage to the reading of program notes.

#### LATE SEATING

Latecomers will be seated only at intervals selected in advance by the artist.

#### TICKET OFFICE

General Information: 217-333-6280 or 800-KCPATIX (527-2849)

Website: KrannertCenter.com E·mail: kran-tix@illinois.edu

#### PATRON SERVICES

For information about wheelchair and easy access seating, hearing assistance, and visual services, contact the Patron Services office at 217-333-9716 or patronservices@krannertcenter.illinois.edu.

To inquire about lost articles, contact the Ticket Office.

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

The School of Music gratefully acknowledges the assistance of:

Krannert Center Student Association Krannert Center Community Volunteers Illini Emergency Medical Services